

Summary of minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the John Rae Society Sunday 12th 2017 at the Pomona Inn, Finstown Starting at 7.40pm

Present:

Andrew Appleby – President Norman Shearer – Chairman Anna Elmy – Hon. Secretary Sigrid Appleby Jim Chalmers Hilda Firth Sandy Firth Neil Kermode Davie Reid Xandra Shearer Rachel Boak – Minute Secretary

Apologies for absence: apologies were received from Bernie and Mike Bell, Mr and Mrs R.L.B. Cormack, Helen Cowing, Alison Cruikshanks, Fiona Lettice, Mark Newton, Bill Spence, John and Sarah Welburn, John White and Graham Wylie.

Minutes of the 2016 AGM: it was proposed that the minutes from the 2016 AGM were taken as read, approved and signed.

President Andrew Appleby's Report 2016-2017: published separately on website

Hon. Treasurer Norman Shearer's Report: the annual report for the year ending 5th April 2017 was presented. As of that date, we had £41,564 in our account. This was before the fundraising activities during the summer, and before the £40,000 cheque towards the Hall was paid in. It was agreed that the auditors A.J.B. Scholes Limited should be retained.

Membership Secretary Rachel Boak's Report: since taking over as Membership Secretary in January 2017, 73 people have joined, while six people have left. There are currently 268 members of the John Rae Society. The breakdown of membership type is annual 42%, life 55% and standing order 29%, while breakdown by geographical area is Orkney 31%, Scotland 29%, wider UK 27% and overseas 13%.

Election of Trustees: three Trustees were up for re-election this year - Jim Chalmers, Helen Cowing and Xandra Shearer. All agreed to stand again and were elected for a further three years. Two new Trustees were proposed: Rachel Boak and Neil Kermode. Fiona Lettice also officially becomes a Trustee as of this AGM. The election of all Trustees, new and existing, was approved by the Board.

Date of next meeting: the meeting closed at 8.40pm and was followed by a meeting of the Board of Trustees. The date of the next AGM is Sunday 28th October 2018.

President: Andrew J Appleby Chairman: Norman Shearer Honorary Secretary: Anna Elmy Web: www.johnraesociety Email: info@johnraesociety.com Telephone: +44 1856 851414 Registered Charity No.: SC044463 7 Church Road, Stromness, Orkney, Scotland, KW16 3BA