Who we are


O. Peter St John, The Earl of Orkney
Elaine Grieve, Lord-Lieutenant of Orkney
Ken McGoogan. Author
Ray Mears, Writer and Broadcaster
Sir Michael Palin, Actor, Broadcaster and Writer
Magnus Linklater, Journalist and ex-editor of The Sunday Times, The Scotsman and The Evening Standard

Board of Trustees

The present Board of Trustees comprises:

  • Andrew Appleby (President)
  • Cheryl Chapman (Chair)
  • Fiona Gould (Membership Secretary)
  • Andy Golightly (Secretary)
  • Neil Kermode OBE
  • Prof. Donna Heddle

There are currently six vacant trustee positions. If you are interested in becoming a trustee, email Project Manager Genna Adkins: gennaadkins@johnraesociety.com


  • Genna Adkins – Project Manager
  • Tracey Phillips – Treasurer

One third of the trustees retire annually by rotation if there is a full complement of trustees (12), but are eligible for re-election.

Contact us

Project Manager gennaadkins@johnraesociety.com

President: Andrew Appleby – president@johnraesociety.com
Chair: Cheryl Chapman- chair@johnraesociety.com
Treasurer: Tracey Phillips – treasurer@johnraesociety.com
Membership Secretary: Fiona Gould – membership@johnraesociety.com
Secretary: Andy Golightly – secretary@johnraesociety.com

Other contacts as follows:

Archive: – archive@johnraesociety.com
Events Committee: – events@johnraesociety.com
Webmaster:  – info@johnraesociety.com