Who we are

Patrons

O. Peter St John, The Earl of Orkney
Elaine Grieve, Lord-Lieutenant of Orkney
Ken McGoogan. Author
Ray Mears, Writer and Broadcaster
Sir Michael Palin, Actor, Broadcaster and Writer
Magnus Linklater, Journalist and ex-editor of The Sunday Times, The Scotsman and The Evening Standard

Board of Trustees

The present Board of Trustees comprises:

  • Andrew Appleby
  • Norman Shearer
  • James Chalmers
  • Mark Newton
  • Neil Kermode
  • Fiona Lettice
  • Liz Macinally
  • Fiona Gould
  • James Grieve
  • Barbara Rae (no relation! )

Officers:

  • Sandra Deans – Project Officer
  • Michelle Scott – Admin Secretary

One third of the trustees retire annually by rotation, but are eligible for re-election.

The principal office-bearers are:

President: Andrew Appleby – president@johnraesociety.com
Chairman: Norman Shearer – normanshearer@hotmail.com
Honorary Treasurer: Fiona Lettice – treasurer@johnraesociety.com
Membership Secretary: Fiona Gould – membership@johnraesociety.com
Administration Secretary: Michelle Scott – secretary@johnraesociety.com

Other contacts as follows:

Archive: – archive@johnraesociety.com
Events Committee: – events@johnraesociety.com
Webmaster: Mark Newton – info@johnraesociety.com
Project Officer: Sandra Deans – projectofficer@johnraesociety.com